Tag Archive: BT

My Tri-Society Mix

I recently had a mix of mine played on the Tri-Society cloudcast.
You can stream it here….


or download my section (without the radio intros and drops) here….

The track list is:
1. DJ Orion & J Shore – The night After (Michael Cassette Remix)
2. Jaytech & Boom Jinx – Milano (Original Mix)
3. Mango – Friday Coffee (Paul Keeley Remix)
4. Playton – Silence (Original Mix) ***DEEP PILL***
5. Johan Vilborg – Altara (Original Mix)
6. Proff – Tell (Original Mix)
7. Dinka – Ellipsis (Original Mix)
8. Terry da Libra – Age of Innocence (Original Mix)
9. BT – Flaming June (Stereojackers Progressive Remake)
10. Jaytech – Grey Horizon (Original Mix)

6. February 2012 Podcast

The latest podcast is now out, this one has got some lovely deep grooves and a bit of an oriental influence. Stand out tracks for me are StereoJacker’s progressive reworking of BT’s Flaming June and the much anticipated Icarus by French wonder kid Madeon.

Download via iTunes please:

1. Matt Lange – Rift (Andrew Bayer Remix)
2. Parker & Hanson – Afterthought (Soundprank’s Deep 04 Mix)
3. Dinka – Lotus (New_Guinea) (Original Mix)
4. BT – Flaming June (StereoJackers Remake)
5. Madeon – Icarus (Original Mix)
6. Stan Kolev – Water Of Life (Original Mix)
7. Suspect 44 – Japanese school girls (Answer 42 mix)
8. Shingo Nakamura & Kazusa – Move on (Matao Remix)
9: Sergey Tkachev & Alexey Sonar – Flying Spirals (Matao Remix)
10: Kyau & Albert – Falling Anywhere (Sunn Jellie mix)

New mix from Selcon – Something for Caz

Here’s a new one by Selcon, this guy seems to pop out mixes quicker than I can upload them! This one was done personally for someone special to him, so we are lucky that he (and she) was happy to share it with us.
The normal high standards apply, I’m starting to run out of adjectives for “good” in relation to his work, but I think its fair to say that so far everything he’s done has been cracking and this is no exception. Enjoy :-)


Track List:
1. Rapha – Andromeda (Norin & Rad Remix)
2. Orjan Nilsen – Mjuzik (Original Mix)
3. Ashley Wallbridge – Liquid (Original Mix)
4. Estive – Better Days feat. Josie (Norin & Rad Remix)
5. Mat Zo – The Lost (Original Mix)
6. Max Graham – Sun In The Winter feat. Neev Kennedy (Original Mix)
7. Andy Moor – Fight The Fire feat. Sue McLaren (Original Mix)
8. Ana Criado – Cant Hold Back The Rain (Stoneface & Terminal Remix)
9. BT / Adam K – Tomahawk (Original Mix)
10. Marc Marberg / Kyau & Albert – Megashira (Ronski Speed Remix)
11. Ferry Corsten – Check It Out (Kyau & Albert Remix)
12. Heatbeat – Roses Never Cry (Original Mix)

ProgressiveBeats Hybrid Breakbeat Mix

In 1997 Sasha and John Digweed released a mix album called Northern Exposure 2, a record which is now regarded as a classic by fans of Electronic Dance Music.
For me, the absolute stand out track on the album was a tune called “Symphony” by Hybrid. I had literally never heard anything like this before: the deeply emotional sounds of the string section (performed by the Russian Federal Orchestra) paired with tough-as-nails rolling breakbeats are such a powerful and emotive combination that I was (and still am 14 years later) completely blown away….
Hybrid went on to release an album in 1999 called Wide Angle, this contained a “Finished” mix of Symphony along with other epic tunes such as “If I survive”, “Dreaming Your Dreams” and “Beachcoma”. People described their sound as “cinematic”, which I think sum’s it up pretty well – the soundscapes which they create are very reminiscent of film scores… a fact which has obviously not escaped the attention of Holywood, as in addition to producing soundtracks to numerous computer games, this Welsh group have created the scores for more than 10 blockbuster movies including “Fast Five”, “X-Men Origins – Wolverine”, “Man on Fire”, “Unstoppable”, “The Taking of Pelham 123″ and “Deja Vu” (oddly 4 of which star Denzel Washington…. perhaps he’s a fan too!).
Hybrid have also completed over 100 remixes of more than 40 artists, some of which I have included in this mix, starting with the now infamously deleted remix of “So Pure” by Alanis Morisette, renamed “Jaded Little Pill” (apparently she hated it), which many regard as one of their greatest remixes.
The group have now released 4 studio albums and regularly DJ as Hybrid Sound System, their sound has developed over the years and is very difficult to categorise as it often touches on rock, progressive house, trance, techno and breakbeat; but what is constant is the depth and complexity of the production which goes into every track.
This is a mix of some of my favourite Hybrid tunes, all of which were released before 2002, in what I regard as their seminal period. To listen to this, I’d recommend locking yourself in a dark room, putting on some headphones and losing yourself in some of the most exquisitely constructed music you’ll ever hear.


Track list:
1. Alanis Morisette – So Pure [Jaded Little Pill] (Hybrid Remix)
2. Rob Dougan – Clubbed to Death (Hybrid Remix)
3. Hybrid – If I Survive (Original Mix)
4. BT – Never Going To Come Back Down (Hybrid Remix)
5. Andreas Johnson – Glorious (Hybrid Remix)
6. Hybrid – Finished Symphony (Echoplex Remix)*
7. Hybrid – Symphony (Original Mix)*
BPM: 140
* I make no apology for mixing two versions of the same track together – they are both epic!

Hybrid (Taking Music Beyond Progression) by Mark D Evans